Persekutuan Tanah Malaysia (Federation of Malaysia)
  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Malaysia is a federation consisting of the eleven States of Peninsular Malaysia and the two states of Sabah and Sarawak. The Portuguese were the first Europeans to settle in the area and Malacca became a Portuguese possession in 1541. The Dutch took Malacca in 1641 and held it until 1794 when it was occupied by the British. Although Malacca was returned to the Dutch in 1814, it was finally ceded to Britain in 1824. At the same time (1814–24) Stamford Raffles established a settlement and Singapore became British territory.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Department of Statistics: Kuala Lumpur. Yearbook of Statistics (1999)Google Scholar
  2. Prime Minister’s Department: Economic Planning Unit. Malaysian Economy in Figures. Annual, 1999.Google Scholar
  3. Andaya, B. W. and Andaya, L. Y., A History of Malaysia. 2nd ed. Palgrave, Basingstoke, 2001Google Scholar
  4. Drabble, J., An Economic History of Malaysia, c. 1800–1990. Palgrave, Basingstoke, 2001Google Scholar
  5. Information Services Department: Kuala Lumpur. Malaysia Yearbook, 1995Google Scholar
  6. Kahn, J. S. and Wah, F. L. K., Fragmented Vision: Culture and Politics in Contemporary Malaysia. Sydney, 1992Google Scholar
  7. BNM: Kuala Lumpur. Bank Negara Malaysia, Annual Report. 1998Google Scholar
  8. Department of Statistics: Kuala Lumpur. State/District Data Bank of Malaysia. 1999Google Scholar
  9. Department of Statistics: Kuala Lumpur. Social Statistics Bulletin of Malaysia. 1998Google Scholar
  10. National statistical office: Department of Statistics, Wisma Statistik, Jalan Cenderasari, 50514 Kuala Lumpur.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2002

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations