Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC)

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Until Feb. 1998 known as the South Pacific Commission, this is a regional intergovernmental organization founded in 1947 under an Agreement commonly referred to as the Canberra Agreement. It is funded by assessed contributions from its 27 members and by voluntary contributions from member and non-member countries, international organizations and other sources.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2001

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations