East African Community

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The East African Community was formally established on 30 Nov. 1999 in Arusha, Tanzania. The treaty which was signed sets the course for the establishment in the future of a common market and political federation. Its predecessor had lasted from 1967 to 1977 but had collapsed for a number of reasons. The member countries are aiming to negotiate the framework of a customs union by 2003.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2000

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations