Southern African Development Community (SADC)

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


History and Membership. The Declaration and Treaty establishing the SADC was signed at the summit of heads of state or government on 17 July 1992 in Windhoek, Namibia. It replaces the South African Development Co-ordination Conference (SADCC), established in 1980 on the adoption of the Lusaka Declaration to reduce the region’s economic dependence on South Africa and combat the effects of sanctions.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2000

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations