• Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Paraguay was occupied by the Spanish m 1537 and became a Spanish colony as part of the viceroyalty of Peru. The area gained its independence, as the Republic of Paraguay, on 14 May 1811. Paraguay was then ruled by a succession of dictators. During a devastating war fought from 1865 to 1870 between Paraguay and a coalition of Argentina, Brazil and Uruguay, Paraguay’s population was reduced from about 600,000 to 233,000. Further severe losses were incurred during the war with Bolivia (1932–35) over territorial claims in the Chaco inspired by the unfounded belief that minerals existed in the territory. A peace treaty by which Paraguay obtained most of the area her troops had conquered was signed in July 1938.

República del Paraguay


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Gacela Official, published by Imprenta Nacional, Estrella y Estero Bellaco, AsunciónGoogle Scholar
  2. Anuario Daumas. AsunciónGoogle Scholar
  3. Anuario Estadístico de la República del Paraguay. Asunción. AnnualGoogle Scholar
  4. Lewis, P. H., Paraguay under Stroessner. Univ. of North Carolina Press, 1980Google Scholar
  5. Nickson, R. A., Paraguay. [Bibliography] ABC-Clio, Oxford and Santa Barbara (CA), 1987Google Scholar
  6. National Library: Biblioteca Nacional, De la Rosidenta, Asunción.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2000

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations