Republic of Mauritius
  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Mauritius was discovered by the Portuguese between 1507 and 1512. But the Dutch were the first settlers who named it after their stadtholder, Count Maurice. The British occupied the island in 1810 and it was formally ceded to Great Britain by the Treaty of Paris, 1814. Independence was attained within the Commonwealth on 12 March 1968. Mauritius became a republic on 12 March 1992.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Central Statistical Information Office. Bi-annual Digest of Statistics. Google Scholar
  2. Bennett, Pamela R., Mauritius. [Bibliography] ABC-Clio, Oxford and Santa Barbara (CA), 1992Google Scholar
  3. Bowman, L. W., Mauritius: Democracy and Development in the Indian Ocean Aldershot, 1991Google Scholar
  4. Mathur, H., Parliament in Mauritius Rose Hill, 1991Google Scholar
  5. National statistical office: Central Statistical Information Office, Rose Hill.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2000

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations