République du Cameroun—Republic of Cameroon
  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The name Cameroon derives from camaraes (prawns), introduced by Portuguese navigators. Called Kamerun in German and Cameroun in French, the estuary was later called the Cameroons River by British navigators. The Duala people living there were important traders, selling slaves and later palm oil to Europeans. On 12 July 1884 they signed a treaty establishing German rule over Kamerun. Originally covering the Duala’s territory on the Wouri, this German colony later expanded to cover a large area inland, home to a number of African peoples. In the First World War Allied forces occupied the territory which was partitioned between France and Britain. British Cameroons consisted of British Southern Cameroons and British Northern Cameroons, adjoining Nigeria. France’s mandated territory of Cameroun occupied most of the former German colony. The Dualas continued to take the lead in anti-colonial protest.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. DeLancey, M. W., Cameroon: Dependence and Independence London, 1989Google Scholar
  2. DeLancey, M. W. and Schraeder, P. J., Cameroon. [Bibliography] ABC-Clio, Oxford and Santa Barbara (CA), 1986Google Scholar
  3. National statistical office: Direction de la Statistique et de la Comptabilité Nationale, Ministère du Plan et de l’Aménagement du Territoire, YaoundéGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2000

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations