North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Origin and History. On 4 April 1949 the foreign ministers of Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the UK and the USA signed the North Atlantic Treaty, establishing the North Atlantic Alliance. In 1952, Greece and Turkey acceded to the Treaty; in 1955 came the Federal Republic of Germany; in 1982 Spain; in 1999 the Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland, bringing the total to 19 member nations.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Carr, F. and Infantis, K., NATO in the New European Order. London, 1996CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. Cook, D., The Forging of an Alliance. London, 1989Google Scholar
  3. Heller, F. H. and Gillingham, J. R. (eds.) NATO: the Founding of the Atlantic Alliance and the Integration of Europe. London, 1992Google Scholar
  4. Smith, J. (ed.) The Origins of NATO. Exeter Univ. Press, 1990Google Scholar
  5. Williams, P., North Atlantic Treaty Organization [Bibliography]. Oxford and New Brunswick (NJ), 1994Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1999

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations