Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (Comesa)

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


COMESA is a grouping of 21 countries who are committed, over the long term, to the creation of a Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa. It was established in 1994 as a building block for the African Economic Community and replaces the Preferential Trade Area for Eastern and Southern Africa, which had been in existence since 1981.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1999

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations