Suriname: Republic of Suriname

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The first Europeans to reach the area were the Spanish in 1499 but it was the British who established a colony in 1650. At the peace of Breda (1667) between Great Britain and the United Netherlands, the area known as Suriname was assigned to the Netherlands in exchange for the colony of New Netherland in North America. This was confirmed by the treaty of Westminster of Feb. 1674. Suriname was twice in British possession during the Napoleonic Wars in 1799–1802 (when it was restored to the Batavian Republic at the peace of Amiens) and 1804–16, when it was returned to the Netherlands.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Dew, E. M, Trouble in Suriname, 1975–1993. New York, 1995Google Scholar
  2. Hoette, R. A. L., Suriname [Bibliography]. Oxford and Santa Barbara (CA), 1990Google Scholar
  3. National statistical office: Algemeen Bureau voor de Statistiek, POB244, ParamariboGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1999

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations