Republic of Seychelles
  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Seychelles were first colonized by the French in 1756 in order to establish plantations for growing spices to compete with the Dutch monopoly. The islands were captured by the English in 1794. During discussions before the Treaty of Paris was signed, Britain offered to return Mauritius and its dependencies which included the Seychelles to France if that country would renounce all claims to her possessions in India. France refused and the Seychelles were formally ceded to Britain as a dependency of Mauritius. In Nov. 1903 the Seychelles archipelago became a separate British Crown Colony. Internal self-government was achieved on 1 Oct. 1975 and independence as a republic within the British Commonwealth on 29 June 1976.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further reading

  1. Statistical Information: Information Office, 52 Kingsgate House, Victoria, Mahé.Google Scholar
  2. Seychelles in Figures. Statistics Division, Mahé, 1989Google Scholar
  3. Benedict, M. and Benedict, B., Men, Women and Money in Seychelles. Univ. of California Press, 1983Google Scholar
  4. Bennett, G. and Bennett, P. R., Seychelles. [Bibliography] Oxford and Santa Barbara (CA), 1993Google Scholar
  5. Franda, M., The Seychelles: Unquiet Islands. Boulder (CO), 1982Google Scholar
  6. Lionnet, G., The Seychelles. Newton Abbot, 1972Google Scholar
  7. Mancham, J. R., Paradise Raped: Life, Love and Power in the Seychelles. London, 1983Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1999

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations