El Salvador

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Conquered by Spain in 1526, El Salvador remained under Spanish rule until freeing itself in 1821. Thereafter, El Salvador was a member of the Central American Federation comprising the states of El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Costa Rica until this federation was dissolved in 1839. In 1841 El Salvador declared itself an independent republic.

República de El Salvador


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Armstrong, R. and Shenk, J., El Salvador: the Face of Revolution. London, 1982Google Scholar
  2. Baloyra, E. A., El Salvador in Transition. Univ. of North Carolina Press, 1982Google Scholar
  3. Didion, J., Salvador. London, 1983Google Scholar
  4. Kufeld, A., El Salvador. NY, 1991Google Scholar
  5. Montgomery, T. S., Revolution in El Salvador: Origins and Evolution. Boulder (CO), 1982Google Scholar
  6. North, L., Bitter Grounds: Roots of Revolt in El Salvador. London, 1981Google Scholar
  7. Woodward, R. L., El Salvador. [Bibliography] Oxford and Santa Barbara (CA), 1988Google Scholar
  8. National statistical office: Directión General de Estadística y Censos, Calle Arce, San Salvador.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1999

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations