Jamhuri ya Kenya (Republic of Kenya)
  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Key Historical Events. Until Kenya became independent it consisted of a colony and a protectorate. The protectorate comprised the mainland dominions of the Sultan of Zanzibar, a coastal strip of territory 10 miles wide to the northern branch of the Tana River, Mau, Kipini and the Island of Lamu, and all adjacent islands between the rivers Umba and Tana. The Sultan ceded the coastal strip to Kenya with effect from 12 Dec. 1963. The colony and protectorate (except the Sultan of Zanzibar’s dominions) became a Crown Colony in 1920 under the name of the Colony of Kenya. The territories on the coast became the Kenya Protectorate. In 1925 the UK ceded the Juba River and a strip from 50 to 100 miles wide on its west bank to Italian Somaliland (now Somalia). The northern boundary is defined by an agreement with Ethiopia in 1947.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Collisoli, R. L., Kenya. [Bibliography] London and Santa Barbara (CA), 1982Google Scholar
  2. Haugerud, A., The Culture of Politics in Modern Kenya. CUP, 1995CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. Miller, N. N., Kenya: the Quest for Prosperity. 2nd ed. Boulder (CO), 1994Google Scholar
  4. Ochieng, W. R., (ed.) Themes in Kenyan History. Nairobi and Ohio Univ. Press, 1990Google Scholar
  5. Widner, J. A., The Rise of a Party State in Kenya: from ‘Haramhee’ to ‘Nayayo’. Univ. of California Press, 1993Google Scholar
  6. National statistical office: Central Bureau of Statistics, Ministry of Planning and National Development, POB 30266, NairobiGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1996

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations