Schweizerische Eidtgenossenschaft—Confédération Suisse— Confederazione Svizzera
  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Key Historical Events. For Switzer-land’s history until the Napoleonic period see The Statesman’s Year-Book, 1994–95, p. 1255. In 1815 the perpetual neutrality of Switzerland and the inviolability of her territory were guaranteed by Austria, France, Great Britain, Portugal, Prussia, Russia, Spain and Sweden, and the Federal Pact, which included 3 new cantons, was accepted by the Congress of Vienna. In 1848 a new Constitution was passed. The 22 cantons set up a Federal Government and a Federal Tribunal. This Constitution was on 29 May 1874 superseded by the present Constitution. A new canton, Jura, was established on 1 Jan. 1979.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Office Fédéral de la Statistique. Annuaire Statistique de la Suisse.Google Scholar
  2. Hilowitz, J. E., (ed.) Switzerland in Perspective. New York, 1991Google Scholar
  3. Meier, H. K. and Meier, R. A., Switzerland, [bibliography] London and Santa Barbara, 1990Google Scholar
  4. Wildblood, R., What makes Switzerland tick? London, 1988Google Scholar
  5. National library: Bibliothèque Nationale Suisse, Hallwylstr. 15, 3003 Berne.Google Scholar
  6. National statistical office: Office Fédéral de la Statistique, Hallwylstr. 15, 3003 Berne.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1996

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations