Mongol Uls
  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Key Historical Events. Outer Mongolia was a Chinese province from 1691 to 1911, an autonomous state under Russian protection from 1912 to 1919 and again a Chinese province from 1919 to 1921. On 13 March 1921 a Provisional People’s Government was established which declared the independence of Mongolia and on 5 Nov. 1921 signed a treaty with Soviet Russia annulling all previous unequal treaties and establishing friendly relations. On 26 Nov. 1924 the Government proclaimed the country the Mongolian People’s Republic.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. The Central Statistical Office: National Economy of the MPR, 1924–1984: Anniversary Statistical Collection. Ulan Bator, 1984Google Scholar
  2. Akiner, S. (ed.) Mongolia Today. London, 1992Google Scholar
  3. Bawden, C. R., The Modern History of Mongolia. London, 1968Google Scholar
  4. Becker, J., The Lost Country. London, 1992Google Scholar
  5. Griffin, K. (ed.) Poverty and the Transition to a Market Economy in Mongolia. London, 1995Google Scholar
  6. Jagchid, S. and Hyer, P., Mongolia’s Culture and Society. Folkestone, 1979Google Scholar
  7. Lattimore, O., Nationalism and Revolution in Mongolia. Leiden, 1955.—Nomads and Commissars. OUP, 1963Google Scholar
  8. Nordby, J., Mongolia in the Twentieth Century. Farnborough, 1993Google Scholar
  9. Sanders, A. J. K., Mongolia: Politics. Economics and Society. London, 1987Google Scholar
  10. Shirendev, B. and Sanjdorj, M. (eds.) History of the Mongolian People’s Republic. Vol. 3 (vols. 1 and 2 not translated). Harvard Univ. Press, 1976Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1996

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations