• Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Key Historical Events. The Moldavian SSR (in 1990 renamed Moldova) was formed by the union of part of the former Moldavian ASSR (organized 12 Oct. 1924), formerly included in the Ukrainian SSR, and the areas of Bessarabia (ceded by Romania to the USSR, 28 June 1940) with a mainly Moldovan population. As from 2 Aug. 1940 the Moldavian SSR included the following regions of the former Moldavian ASSR: Grigoriopol, Dubossarsk, Kamensk, Rybnits, Slobodzeisk and Tiraspol, and the following districts of Bessarabia: Beltsk, Bendery, Chisinau (then Kishinev), Kagulsk, Orgeev and Sorok.

Republica Moldovenească


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1996

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations