Persekutuan Tanah Malaysia (Federation of Malaysia)
  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Key Historical Events. On 16 Sept. 1963 Malaysia came into being, consisting of the Federation of Malaya, the State of Singapore and the colonies of North Borneo (renamed Sabah) and Sarawak. The UK relinquished sovereignty over Singapore, North Borneo and Sarawak from independence day and extended the 1957 defence agreement with Malaya to apply to Malaysia. Malaysia became a member of the Commonwealth.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Brown, I. and Ampalavanar, R., Malaysia. [Bibliography) Oxford and Santa Barbara, 1986Google Scholar
  2. Gullick, J., Malaysia: Economic Expansion and National Unity. Boulder and London, 1982Google Scholar
  3. Information Malaysia Yearbook. Kuala LumpurGoogle Scholar
  4. Jomo, K. S., Growth and Structural Change in the Malaysian Economy. London, 1990CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. Kahn, J. S. and Wah, F. L. K., Fragmented Vision: Culture and Politics in Contemporary Malaysia. Sydney, 1992Google Scholar
  6. King, V. T. and Parnwell, M. J. (eds), Margins and Minorities: the Peripheral Areas and People of Malaysia. Hull Univ. Press, 1990Google Scholar
  7. Means, G. P., Malaysian Politics: the Second Generation. OUP, 1991Google Scholar
  8. Zakaria, A., Government and Politics in Malaysia. OUP, 1987Google Scholar
  9. Runciman, S., The White Rajahs. CUP, 1960Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1996

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations