Equatorial Guinea

República de Guinea Ecuatorial
  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. Equatorial Guinea was a Spanish colony (Territorios Españoles del Golfo de Guinea) until 1 April 1960. The territory was then divided into two Spanish provinces with a status comparable to the metropolitan provinces until 20 Dec. 1963, when they were re-joined as an autonomous Equatorial Region. It became an independent Republic on 12 Oct. 1968 as a federation of the two provinces, and a unitary state was established on 4 Aug. 1973. The first President, Francisco Macias Nguema, was declared President-for-Life on 14 July 1972, but was overthrown by a military coup on 3 Aug. 1979. A Supreme Military Council then created was the sole political body until constitutional rule was resumed on 12 Oct. 1982.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Fegley, R., Equatorial Guinea, an African Tragedy. New York, 1989.—Equatorial Guinea: [Bibliography]. Oxford and Santa Barbara, 1991Google Scholar
  2. Liniger-Goumaz, M., Guinea Ecuatorial: Bibliografía General, vols 1–7. Geneva, 1974–91.—Historical Dictionary of Equatorial Guinea. 2nd ed. Metuchen (NJ), 1988.—Small Is Not Always Beautiful: the Story of Equatorial Guinea. London, 1988Google Scholar
  3. Molino, A. M. del, La Ciudad de Clarence. Madrid, 1994Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1995

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations