United Arab Emirates (UAE)

  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. British forces withdrew from the Persian Gulf in 1971 and the treaties whereby the UK had been responsible for the defence and foreign relations of the Tru-cial States (see The Statesman’s Year-Book, 1991–92, p. 1292) were terminated, being replaced on 2 Dec. 1971 by a treaty of friendship between the UK and the United Arab Emirates. The United Arab Emirates (formed 2 Dec. 1971) consists of the former Trucial States: Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm al Qaiwain, Ras al-Khaimah (joined in Feb. 1972) and Fujairah. The small state of Kalba was merged with Sharjah in 1952.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Alkim, H. al.-, The Foreign Policy of the UAE. Saqi, 1989Google Scholar
  2. Clements, F. A., United Arab Emirates. [Bibliography] Oxford and Santa Barbara, 1983Google Scholar
  3. Heard-Bey, F., From Trucial States to United Arab Emirates. London, 1982Google Scholar
  4. Taryam, A. O., The Establishment of the United Arab Emirates. London, 1987Google Scholar
  5. Whelan, J., UAE: a MEED Practical Guide. 3rd ed. London, 1990Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1995

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations