Federated States of Micronesia
  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Spain acquired sovereignty over the Caroline Islands in 1886, but sold the archipelago to Germany in 1899. Japan occupied the Islands at the beginning of the First World War, and in 1921 they were mandated to Japan by the League of Nations. Captured by Allied Forces in the Second World War in 1944, the Islands became part of the UN Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands created on 18 July 1947 and administered by the USA. The Federated States of Micronesia came into being on 10 May 1979 comprising all of the Caroline Islands except the Belau (Palau) group. Its trusteeship was terminated on 3 Nov. 1986 when it entered into a 15-year Free Association with the USA. The UN recognized the termination of the Trusteeship Agreement on 22 Dec. 1990, and Micronesia became a full UN member state on 17 Sept. 1991.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Kluge, P. F., The Edge of Paradise: America in Micronesia New York, 1991Google Scholar
  2. Wuerch, W. L. and Ballendorf, D. A., Historical Dictionary of Guam and Micronesia. Metuchen (NJ), 1995Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1995

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations