Fürstentum Liechtenstein (Principality of Liechtenstein)
  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Liechtenstein is a sovereign state whose history dates back to 3 May 1342, when Count Hartmann III became ruler of the county of Vaduz. Additions were later made to the count’s domains, and by 1434 the territory reached its present boundaries. It consists of the two former counties of Schellenberg and Vaduz (until 1806 immediate fiefs of the Holy Roman Empire). The former in 1699 and the latter in 1712 came into the possession of the house of Liechtenstein. On 23 Jan. 1719 the Emperor Charles VI constituted the two counties as the Principality of Liechtenstein.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Amt für Volkswirtschaft. Statistisches Jahrbuch. VaduzGoogle Scholar
  2. Rechenschaftsbericht der Fürstlichen Regierung. Vaduz. Annual, from 1922Google Scholar
  3. Jahrbuch des Historischen Vereins. Vaduz. Annual since 1901Google Scholar
  4. Green, B., Valley of Peace Vaduz, 1967Google Scholar
  5. Larke, T. A. T., Index and Thesaurus of Liechtenstein. 2nd ed. Berkeley, 198Google Scholar
  6. Raton, P., Liechtenstein: History and Institutions of the Principality Vaduz, 1970Google Scholar
  7. Seger, O., A Survey of Liechtenstein History 4th English ed. Vaduz, 1984Google Scholar
  8. National library: Landesbibliothek, VaduzGoogle Scholar
  9. National statistical office: Amt für Volkswirtschaft, VaduzGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1995

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations