Jamhuri ya Kenya (Republic of Kenya)
  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. Until Kenya became independent on 12 Dec. 1963, it consisted of the colony and the protectorate. The protectorate comprised the mainland dominions of the Sultan of Zanzibar, viz., a coastal strip of territory 10 miles wide, to the northern branch of the Tana River; also Mau, Kipini and the Island of Lamu, and all adjacent islands between the rivers Umba and Tana. The Sultan on 8 Oct. 1963 ceded the coastal strip to Kenya with effect from 12 Dec. 1963.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Kenya Economic Surrey, 1988. Nairobi, 1988Google Scholar
  2. Statistical Abstract. Government Printer, Nairobi, 1982Google Scholar
  3. Who’s Who in Kenya 1982–1983. London, 1983Google Scholar
  4. Arnold, G., Kenyatta and the Politics of Kenya. London, 1974.Google Scholar
  5. Modern Kenya. London, 1982Google Scholar
  6. Bigsten, A., Education and Income Distribution in Kenya. Brookfield, Vermont, 1984Google Scholar
  7. Collison, R. L., Kenya. [Bibliography] London and Santa Barbara, 1982Google Scholar
  8. Harbeson, J. W., Nation-Buildinï in Kenya: The Role of Land Reform. Northwestern Univ. Press, 1973Google Scholar
  9. Hazlewood, A., The Economy of Kenya: The Kenyatta Era. OUP, 1980Google Scholar
  10. Langdon, S. W., Multinational Corporations in the Political Economy of Kenya. London, 1981CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. Miller, N. N., Kenya, the Quest for Prosperity. Boulder and London, 1984Google Scholar
  12. Tomkinson, M., Kenya: A Holiday Guide. 5th ed. London and Hammamet, 1981Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1991

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations