Co-operative Republic of Guyana
  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. The territory, including the counties of Demerara, Essequibo and Ber-bice, named from the 3 rivers, was first partially settled by the Dutch West Indian Company about 1620. The Dutch retained their hold until 1796, when it was captured by the English. It was finally ceded to Great Britain in 1814 and named British Guiana. On 26 May 1966 British Guiana became an independent member of the Commonwealth under the name of Guyana and the world’s first Co-operative Republic on 23 Feb. 1970.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Baber, C. and Jeffrey, H. B., Guyana: Politics, Economics and Society. London, 1986Google Scholar
  2. Braveboy-Wagner, J. A., The Venezuela-Guyana Border Dispute: Britain’s Colonial Legacy in Latin America. London, 1984Google Scholar
  3. Chambers, F., Guyana. [Bibliography] Oxford and Santa Barbara, 1989Google Scholar
  4. Daly, P. H., From Revolution to Republic. Georgetown, 1970Google Scholar
  5. Daly, V. T., A Short History of the Guyanese People. Rev. ed. London, 1975Google Scholar
  6. Hope, K. R., Development Policy in Guyana: Planning, Finance and Administration. London, 1979Google Scholar
  7. Latin American Bureau, Guyana: Fraudulent Revolution. London, 1984CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. Sanders, A., The Powerless People. London, 1987Google Scholar
  9. Spinner, T. J., A Political and Social History of Guyana, 1945–83. Epping, 1985Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1991

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations