• Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. The Rock of Gibraltar was settled by Moors in 711; they named it after their chief Jebel Tariq, ‘the Mountain of Tarik’. In 1462 it was taken by the Spaniards, from Granada. It was captured by Admiral Sir George Rooke on 24 July 1704, and ceded to Great Britain by the Treaty of Utrecht, 1713. The cession was confirmed by the treaties of Paris (1763) and Versailles (1783).


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Gibraltar Year Book. Gibraltar, (Annual)Google Scholar
  2. Ellicott, D., Our Gibraltar. Gibraltar, 1975Google Scholar
  3. Green, M. M., A Gibraltar Bibliography. London, 1980.Google Scholar
  4. Supplement. London, 1982Google Scholar
  5. Hills, G., Rock of Contention: A History of Gibraltar. London, 1974Google Scholar
  6. Jackson, W. G. F., The Rock of the Gibraltarians. Farleigh Dickinson Univ. Press, 1987Google Scholar
  7. Magauran, H. C, Rock Siege: The Difficulties with Spain 1964–85. Gibraltar, 1986Google Scholar
  8. Shields, G. J., Gibraltar. [Bibliography] Oxford and Santa Barbara, 1988Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1991

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations