Equatorial Guinea

República de Guinea Ecuatorial
  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. Equatorial Guinea was a Spanish colony (Territorios Españoles del Golfo de Guinea) until 1 April 1960, the territory was then divided into two Spanish provinces with a status comparable to the metropolitan provinces until 20 Dec. 1963, when they were re-joined as an autonomous Equatorial Region. It became an independent Republic on 12 Oct. 1968 as a federation of the two provinces, and a unitary state was established on 4 Aug. 1973. The first President, Francisco Macías Nguema, was declared President-for-Life on 14 July 1972, but was overthrown by a military coup on 3 Aug. 1979. A Supreme Military Council then created was the sole political body until constitutional rule was resumed on 12 Oct. 1982.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Arlas Historico y Geográfico de Africa Española. Madrid, 1955Google Scholar
  2. Plan de Desarrollo Económico de la Guinea Ecuatorial. Presidencia del Gobierno. Madrid, 1963Google Scholar
  3. Berman, S., Spanish Guinea: An Annotated Bibliography. Microfilm Service, Catholic University. Washington, D.C. 1961Google Scholar
  4. Liniger-Goumaz, M., La Guinée équatoriale un pays méconnu. Paris, 1980.Google Scholar
  5. Liniger-Goumaz, M., Connaître la Guinée Equatoriale. Paris, 1986.Google Scholar
  6. Liniger-Goumaz, M., Guinea Ecuatorial: Biblioqrafia General, vols 1–7. Geneva, 1974–91Google Scholar
  7. Pélissier, R., Les Territoires espagnols d’Afrique. Paris, 1963.Google Scholar
  8. Pélissier, R., Los territorios espanoles de Africa. Madrid, 1964.Google Scholar
  9. Pélissier, R., Etudes Hispano-Guinéennes. Orgeval, 1969Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1991

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations