Commonwealth of Dominica
  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. Dominica was discovered by Columbus. It was a British possession from 1805, a member of the Federation of the West Indies 1958–62, an Associated State of the UK, 1967–78 and became an independent republic as the Commonwealth of Dominica on 3 Nov. 1978.

Further Reading

  1. Myers, R. A., Dominica. [Bibliography] Oxford and Santa Barbara, 1987Google Scholar
  2. Library: Public Library, Roseau, Librarian: Mrs. C. Williams.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1991

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations