République du Sénégal
  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. France established a fort at Saint-Louis in 1659 and later acquired other coastal settlements from the Dutch; the interior was occupied in 1854–65. Senegal became a territory of French West Africa in 1902 and an autonomous state within the French Community on 25 Nov. 1958. On 4 April 1959 Senegal joined with French Sudan to form the Federation of Mali, which achieved independence on 20 June 1960, but on 22 Aug. Senegal withdrew from the Federation and became a separate independent republic. Senegal was a one-Party state from 1966 until 1974, when a pluralist system was re-established. Léopold Sédar Senghor, President since independence, resigned on 31 Dec. 1980 and was succeeded by his Prime Minister, Abdou Diouf. From 1 Feb. 1982 Senegal joined with Gambia to form a Confedera-tion of Senegambia.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Crowder, M., Senegal: A Study in French Assimilation OUP, 1962Google Scholar
  2. Gellar, S., Senegal. Boulder, 1982.—Senegal: An African Nation between Islam and the West Aldershot, 1983Google Scholar
  3. Samb, M. (ed.) Spotlight on Senegal. Dakar, 1972Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1991

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations