Jamhuri ya Muungano wa Tanzania
  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. German East Africa was occupied by German colonialists from 1884 and placed under the protection of the German Empire in 1891. It was conquered in the First World War and subsequently divided between the British and Belgians. The latter received the territories of Ruanda and Urundi and the British the remainder, except for the Kionga triangle, which went to Portugal. The country was administered as a League of Nations mandate until 1946 and then as a UN trusteeship territory until 9 Dec. 1961.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Atlas of Tanganyika. 3rd ed. Dares Salaam, 1956Google Scholar
  2. Tanganyika Notes and Records. Tanganyika Society, Dar es Salaam. (Twice yearly, from 1936) The Economic Development of Tanganyika. Report… by the International Bank. Johns Hopkins Univ. Press and OU P, 1961Google Scholar
  3. Ayany, S. G., A History of Zanzibar. Nairobi, 1970Google Scholar
  4. Coulson, A., ‘Tanzania: A Political Economy. OUP. 1982Google Scholar
  5. Darch, C., Tanzania. [Bibliography] Oxford and Santa Barbara, 1985Google Scholar
  6. Hood, M.,(ed.) Tanzania and Nyerere. London, 1988Google Scholar
  7. Nyerere, J., freedom and Development. New York. 1976Google Scholar
  8. Resnick, I. N., ‘The Long Transition: Building Socialism in Tanzania. New York and London, 1981Google Scholar
  9. Yeager, R., Tanzania: An African Experiment. Aldershot, 1982Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1989

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations