• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Mauritius was known to Arab navigators probably not later than the 10th century. It was probably visited by Malays in the 15th century, and was discovered by the Portuguese between 1507 and 1512, but the Dutch were the first settlers (1598). In 1710 they abandoned the island, which was occupied by the French under the name of Ile de France (1715). The British occupied the island in 1810, and it was formally ceded to Great Britain by the Treaty of Paris, 1814. Mauritius attained independence on 12 March 1968. In 1965 the Chagos Archipelago was transferred to the British Indian Ocean Territory.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Statistical Information: The Central Statistical Information Office (Rose Hill, Mauritius) was founded in July 1945. Its main publication is the Bi-annual Digest of Statistics.Google Scholar
  2. Ministry of Information, Fruits of Political and Social Democracy.—Mauritius Facts and Figures 1980 Google Scholar
  3. Simmons, A. S., Modem Mauritius: The Politics of Decolonization. Indiana Univ. Press, 1982Google Scholar
  4. Toussaint A., History of Mauritius. London. 1978Google Scholar
  5. Library The Mauritius Institute Public Library. Port Louis.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1989

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations