• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Spaniards under Francisco Pizarro founded a colony after their victory at Cajamarca (16 Nov. 1532). Their rule was first challenged by the rising of 10 Aug. 1809. Marshal Sucre defeated the Spaniards at Pichincha in 1822, and in 1822 Bolivar persuaded the new republic to join the federation of Gran Colombia. The Presidency of Quito became the Republic of Ecuador by amicable secession 13 May 1830.

República del Ecuador


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Anuario de Legislation Ecuatoriana. Quito. AnnualGoogle Scholar
  2. Boletin del Banco Central. QuitoGoogle Scholar
  3. Bolelin General de Estadistica. Tri-monthlyGoogle Scholar
  4. Boletin Mensual del Ministerio de Obras Públicas. MonthlyGoogle Scholar
  5. Informes Ministeriales. Quito. AnnualGoogle Scholar
  6. Bibliografia Nacional. 1756–1941. Quito, 1942Google Scholar
  7. Invest in Ecuador. Banco Central del Ecuador, Quito, 1980Google Scholar
  8. Buitrón, A., and Collier, Jr, J., The Awakening Valley: Study of the Otavalo Indians. New York, 1950Google Scholar
  9. Cueva, A., The Process of Political Domination in Ecuador. London, 1982Google Scholar
  10. Hickman, J., The Enchanted Islands: The Galapagos Discovered. Oswestry, 1985Google Scholar
  11. Martz, J. D., Ecuador: Conflicting Political Culture and the Quest for Progress. Boston, 1972.—Politics and Petroleum in Ecuador. New Brunswick, 1987Google Scholar
  12. Middleton, A., Class Power and the Distribution of Credit in Ecuador. Glasgow, 1981Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1988

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations