Solomon Islands

  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. The Solomon Islands were discovered in 1568 by Alvaro de Mendana, on a voyage of discovery from Peru; 200 years passed before European contact was again made with the Solomons. The Solomon Islands lie within the area 5° to 12° 30′ S. lat. and 155° 30′ to 169° 45′ E. long. The group includes the main islands of Guadalcanal, Malaita, San Cristobal, New Georgia, Santa Isabel and Choiseul; the smaller Florida and Russell groups; the Shortland, Mono (or Treasury), Vella La Vella, Kolombangara, Ranongga, Gizo and Rendova Islands; to the east, Santa Cruz, Tikopia, the Reef and Duff groups; Rennell and Bellona in the south; Ontong Java or Lord Howe to the north; and innumerable smaller islands. The 4 first-named were placed under British protection in 1893; the other islands were added in 1898 and 1899.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Solomon Islands Hand Book 1983. Government Information Service, Honiara, 1983Google Scholar
  2. Amhurst, Lord, and Thompson, B., The Discovery of the Solomon Islands in 1568. London, 1967Google Scholar
  3. Kent, J., The Solomon Islands. Newton Abbot, 1972Google Scholar
  4. Miller, J., Guadalcanal: The First Offensive. Washington, 1949Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1986

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations