• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The 3 islands forming the present state became French protectorates at the end of the 19th century, and were proclaimed colonies on 25 July 1912. With neighbouring Mayotte they were administratively attached to Madagascar from 1914 until 1947, when the 4 islands became a French Overseas Territory, achieving internal self-government in Dec. 1961.

Republique fédérale islamique des Comores


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1985

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations