Cayman Islands

  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The islands were discovered by Columbus on 10 May 1503 and were ceded (with Jamaica) to Britain in 1670. Grand Cayman was settled in 1734 and the other islands in 1833. They became a separate Crown Colony on 4 July 1959, administered by the same governor as Jamaica until the latter’s independence on 6 Aug. 1962 when they received their own Administrator.

Books of Reference

  1. Annual Report, 1983. Cayman Islands Government, 1984Google Scholar
  2. Statistical Abstract of the Cayman Islands, 1983. Cayman Islands Government Statistics Unit, 1984Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1985

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations