• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Trading settlements were established by Arab merchants at Sofala (Beira), Quelimane, Angoche and Mozambique Island in the fifteenth century. Mozambique Island was visited by Vasco da Gamba’s fleet on 2 March 1498, and Sofala was occupied by Portuguese in 1506. At first ruled as part of Portuguese India, a separate administration was created in 1752, and on 11 June 1951 Mozambique became an Overseas Province of Portugal. Following a decade of guerrilla activity, Portugal and the nationalists jointly established a transitional government on 20 Sept. 1974. Independence was achieved on 25 June 1975. In March 1984 the Republic of South Africa and Mozambique signed a non-agression pact.

República Popular de Moçambique


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Henriksen, T. H., Mozambique: A History. London and Cape Town, 1978Google Scholar
  2. Houser, G., and Shore, H., Mozambique: Dream the Size of Freedom. New York, 1975Google Scholar
  3. Isaacman, A., A Luta Continua: Building a New Society in Mozambique. New York. 1978Google Scholar
  4. Mondlane, E., The Struggle for Mozambique. London, 1983Google Scholar
  5. Munslow, B., Mozambique: The Revolution and its Origins. London, 1983Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1984

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations