• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Mauritius was known to Arab navigators probably not later than the 10th century. It was probably visited by Malays in the 15th century, and was discovered by the Portuguese between 1507 and 1512, but the Dutch were the first settlers (1598). In 1710 they abandoned the island, which was occupied by the French under the name of Ile de France (1715). The British occupied the island in 1810, and it was formally ceded to Great Britain by the Treaty of Paris, 1814. Mauritius attained independence on 12 March 1968.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Brouard, N. R., A History of Woods and Forests in Mauritius. Government Printer, 1964Google Scholar
  2. Buckory, S., Our Constitution. Port Louis, 1971.Google Scholar
  3. An Outline of Local Government. Port Louis, 197.Google Scholar
  4. Chelin, A., Une île et son passé (1507–1947). Mauritius Printing, 1973Google Scholar
  5. Mauritius Facts and Figures 1980 Google Scholar
  6. Napal, D., Les constitutions de l’île Maurice. Port Louis, 1962Google Scholar
  7. Simmons, A. S., Modern Mauritius: The Politics of Decolonization. Indiana Univ. Press, 1982Google Scholar
  8. Société de l’Histoire de l’Ile Maurice. Dictionnaire de biographie mauricienne. Port Louis, 1967Google Scholar
  9. Toussaint A., History of Mauritius. London, 1978Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1984

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations