• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. The Spaniards under Francisco Pizarro founded a colony after their victory at Cajamarca ( 16 Nov. 1532). Their rule was first challenged by the rising of 10 Aug. 1809. Marshal Sucre defeated the Spaniards at Pichincha in 1821, and in 1822 Bolivar persuaded the new republic to join the federation of Gran Colombia. The Presidency of Quito became the Republic of Ecuador by amicable secession 13 May 1830.

República del Ecuador


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Anuario deLegislation Ecuatoriana. Quito. AnnualGoogle Scholar
  2. Bolelin del Banco Central. QuitoGoogle Scholar
  3. Boletin General de Esladistica. Tri-monthlyGoogle Scholar
  4. Bolelin Mensual del Ministerio de Obras Públicas. MonthlyGoogle Scholar
  5. Informes Ministeriales. Quito. AnnualGoogle Scholar
  6. Bibtiografia National, 1756–1941. Quito, 1942Google Scholar
  7. Invest in Ecuador. Banco Central del Ecuador, Quito, 1980Google Scholar
  8. Blanksten, G. R., Ecuador: Constitutions and Caudillos. Univ. of California Press, 1951Google Scholar
  9. Bromley, R. J., Development Planning in Ecuador. London, 1977Google Scholar
  10. Buitrón, A., and Collier, Jr. J., The Awakening Valley: Study of the Otavalo Indians. New York. 1950Google Scholar
  11. Holdridge, L. R. and others, The Forests of Western and Central Ecuador. Washington, 1947Google Scholar
  12. Linke, L., Ecuador, Country of Contrasts. R. Inst, of Int. Affairs, 3rd ed., 1959Google Scholar
  13. Luna Yepes, J., Sínlcsis historica y geográfica del Ecuador. Madrid. 1951Google Scholar
  14. Martz, J. D., Ecuador: Conflicting Political Culture and the Quest for Progress. Boston, 1972Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1982

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations