• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. The territory of the present State was occupied by France in 1892 and was constituted a division of French West Africa in 1904 under the name of Dahomey. It became an independent republic within the French Community on 4 Dec. 1958, and acquired full independence on 1 Aug. 1960.

République Populaire du Benin


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Ronen, D. Dahomey: Between Tradition and Modernity. Cornell Univ. Press, 1975Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1982

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations