• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. Until Kenya became independent on 12 Dec. 1963, it consisted of the colony and the protectorate. The protectorate comprised the mainland dominions of the Sultan of Zanzibar, viz., a coastal strip of territory 10 miles wide, to the northern branch of the Tana River; also Mau, Kipini and the Island of Lamu, and all adjacent islands between the rivers Umba and Tana. The Sultan on 8 Oct. 1963 ceded the coastal strip to Kenya with effect from 12 Dec. 1963.

Jamhuri ya Kenya


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Standard English-Swahili Dictionary, Ed. Inter-territorial Language Committee of East Africa. 2 vols. London, 1939Google Scholar
  2. Arnold, G., Kenyatta and the Politics of Kenya. London, 1974Google Scholar
  3. Bienen, H., Kenya: The Politics of Participation and Control. Princeton Univ. Press, 1974Google Scholar
  4. Bolton, K., Haramble Country: À Guide to Kenya. London, 1970Google Scholar
  5. Harbeson, J. W., Nation-Building in Kenva: The Role of Land Reform. Northwestern Univ. Press, 1973Google Scholar
  6. Huxley, E., and Perham, M. Race and Politics in Kenya. Rev. ed. London, 1956Google Scholar
  7. Leys, C., Underdevelopment in Kenya. London, 1975Google Scholar
  8. Mboya, T. J., Freedom and After. London, 1963Google Scholar
  9. Murray-Brown, J., Kenyatta. London, 1972Google Scholar
  10. Rothchild, D., Racial Bargaining in Independent Kenya. OUP, 1973Google Scholar
  11. Werlin, H. W., Governing an African City: A Study in Nairobi. New York, 1974Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1981

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations