Solomon Islands

  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Solomon Islands were discovered in 1568 by Alvaro de Mendana, on a voyage of discovery from Peru; 200 years passed before European contact was again made with the Solomons. The Solomon Islands lie within the area 5° to 12° 30’ S. lat. and 155° 30’ to 169° 45’ E. long. The group includes the main islands of Guadalcanal, Malaita, San Cristobal, New Georgia, Santa Isabel and Choiseul; the smaller Florida and Russell groups; the Shortland, Mono (or Treasury), Vella La Vella, Kolombangara, Ranongga, Gizo and Rendova Islands; to the east, Santa Cruz, Tikopia, the Reef and Duff groups; Rennell and Bellona in the south; Ontong Java or Lord Howe to the north; and innumerable smaller islands.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. B.S.I.P. Annual Report, 1969. Honiara, 1970Google Scholar
  2. Pacific Islands Year Book and Who’s Who. Sydney, 1968Google Scholar
  3. Building the Nation. Honiara, 1975Google Scholar
  4. Amhurst, Lord, and Thompson, B., The Discovery of the Solomon Islands in 1568. London, 1967Google Scholar
  5. Fox, C. E., The Threshold of the Pacific. London, 1924Google Scholar
  6. Kent, J., The Solomon Islands. Newton Abbot. 1972Google Scholar
  7. Miller, J., Guadalcanal: The First Offensive. Washington, 1949Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1981

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations