• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. From 1912 to 1956 Morocco was divided into a French protectorate (established by the treaty of Fez concluded between France and the Sultan on 30 March 1912), a Spanish protectorate (established by the Franco-Spanish convention of 27 Nov. 1912) and the international zone of Tangier (set up by France, Spain and Great Britain on 18 Dec. 1923).

al-Mamlaka al-Maghrebia


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Bulletin Official (in Arabie and French). Rabat. WeeklyGoogle Scholar
  2. La situation Economique du Maroc en 1971). Rabat. 1971Google Scholar
  3. Ashford, D. E., Political Change in Morocco. Princeton University Press. 1961CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. Barber, N., Survey of North Africa. 2nd ed. OUP, 1962. Morocco. London. 1965Google Scholar
  5. Deçroux, P., Les sociétés au Maroc. Paris, 1950Google Scholar
  6. D’Étienne, J., and others. L’évolution sociale du Maroc. Paris, 1950Google Scholar
  7. Drague, G., Esquisse d’histoire religieuse du Maroc. Paris, 1951Google Scholar
  8. Joly, F., and others, Géographie du Maroc. Paris, 1949Google Scholar
  9. Kinross, Lord, and Haies-Gary, D., Morocco. London, 1971Google Scholar
  10. Mercier, H., Dictionnaire arahic français. Rabat, 1951Google Scholar
  11. Miège, J.-I., Morocco. New York, 1953Google Scholar
  12. Rivere, P. I., Précis de Législation marocaine. New ed. in collaboration with G. Catleriz. 2 vols. Caen. 1942 46Google Scholar
  13. Sunnier, H., Code des eaux du Maroc. Rabat, 1954Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1981

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations