El Salvador

República de El Salvador
  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. In 1839 the Central American Federation, which had comprised the states of Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua and Costa Rica, was dissolved, and El Salvador declared itself formally an independent republic in 1841. There have since been a number of attempts to restore some looser form of Central American unity, the latest being the founding in 1951 of the Organization of Central American States (with Secretariat in San Salvador) and the Central American Common Market.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Angel Gallardo, M., Cuatro Constitueiones Fédérales de Centra Amériea y Las Constitueiones Politicas de El Salvador. San Salvador, 1945Google Scholar
  2. Browning, D., El Salvador: Landscape and Society. OUP, 1971Google Scholar
  3. Vogt, W., The Population of El Salvador and Its Natural Resources. Washington, D.C., 1946Google Scholar
  4. Wallich, H. C. (ed.), Public Finance in a Developing Country; El Salvador. Harvard Univ. Press, 1951Google Scholar
  5. White, A., El Salvador. New York. 1973Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1980

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations