Federal Republic of Germany

  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Federal Republic of Germany became a sovereign independent country on 5 May 1955 and is a member of EEC, the Council of Europe, Western European Union, Nato, the European Coal and Steel Community, Euratom, the European Monetary Agreement and the Agencies of the UN.

Bundesrepublik Deutschland


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Documents on Germany under Occupation, 1945–54. Ed. B. Ruhm von Oppen. R. Inst. of Int. Affairs, 1955Google Scholar
  2. Bluhm, G., Die Oder-Neisse-Linie in der Deutschen Aussenpolilik. Freiburg, 1963Google Scholar
  3. Dickinson, R. E., The Regions of Germany. London, 1945Google Scholar
  4. Grosser, A., Germany in our Time: A Political History of the Postwar Years. New York, 1971Google Scholar
  5. Pounds, N. J. G., The Economic Pattern of Modern Germany. 2nd ed. London, 1966Google Scholar
  6. Roberts, G. K., West German Politics. London, 1972CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. Ryder, A. J., Twentieth-Century Germany: From Bismarck to Brandt. London, 1973CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. Trene, W., Germany Since 1884. Bad Godesberg, 1969Google Scholar
  9. Wiskemann, E., Germany’s Eastern Neighbours. R. Inst. of Int. Affairs, 1956Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1979

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations