• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Republic of Uruguay, formerly a part of the Spanish Vice-royalty of Rio de la Plata and subsequently a province of Brazil, declared its independence 25 Aug. 1825 which was recognized by the treaty between Argentina and Brazil signed at Rio de Janeiro 27 Aug. 1828. The first constitution was adopted 18 July 1830.

República Oriental del Uruguay


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. The official gazette is the Diario Oficial Google Scholar
  2. Statistical Reports of the Government. Montevideo. Annual and biennialGoogle Scholar
  3. Anales de Instruction Primaria. Montevideo. QuarterlyGoogle Scholar
  4. Arcas, J. A., Historia del siglo XX uruguayo, 1897–1943 Montevideo, 1950Google Scholar
  5. De Carlos, M., La escuela púplica uruguaya. Montevideo, 1949Google Scholar
  6. Fernández Saldaña, J. M., Diccionario Uruguayo de Biografias. Montevideo, 1945Google Scholar
  7. Fitzgibbon, R. H., Uruguay, Portrait of a Democracy New Brunswick, NJ, 1954; London, 1956Google Scholar
  8. Montañés, M. T., Desarrollo de la agricultura en el Uruguay. Montevideo, 1948Google Scholar
  9. Pendle, G., Uruguay 3rd ed. R. Inst. of Int. Affairs, 1963Google Scholar
  10. Porzecanski, A. C., Uruguay’s Tupamaros London and New York, 1973Google Scholar
  11. Salgado, José, Historia de la Republka O. del Uruguay. 8 vols. Montevideo, 1943Google Scholar
  12. National Library: Biblioteca Nacional del Uruguay, Guayabo 1793, Montevideo. It publishes Anuario Bibliográfico Uruguayo.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1979

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations