• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The islands were first colonized by the French in the middle of the 18th century, in order to establish plantations of spices to compete with the Dutch monopoly. They were captured by the English in 1794 and incorporated as a dependency of Mauritius in 1814. In 1888 the office of administrator was created, with an Executive Council and a Legislative Council. In 1897 the Administrator was given full powers as Governor, and in Nov. 1903 he was raised to the rank of Governor with the Seychelles archipelago becoming a separate colony. In June 1976, Seychelles attained independence and is now a republic within the Commonwealth.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Statistical Information: Information Office, 52 Kingsgate House, Victoria, Mahé.Google Scholar
  2. Report of Seychelles Constitutional Conference. HMSO, 1970Google Scholar
  3. Population Census 1960.—Agricultural Census 1960. Government Printer, 1961Google Scholar
  4. Seychelles Handbook. Government Printer, 1976Google Scholar
  5. Benedict, B., People of the Seychelles. HMSO, 1966Google Scholar
  6. Lionnet, G., The Seychelles. Newton Abbot, 1972Google Scholar
  7. Webb, A. W. T., Story of Seychelles. Government Printer, 1965Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1979

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations