Comoro Islands

  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


GOVERNMENT. On 22 Dec. 1961 the Comoro Archipelago was given a special statute which was amended on 3 Jan. 1968 to give greater internal autonomy. Mayotte was a colony since 1843 ; on 25 July 1912 the 3 other islands, hitherto protectorates, were also declared colonies. From 1914 to 1946 the whole archipelago was attached to the government-general of Madagascar. On 9 May 1946 it was granted administrative autonomy within the French Republic, and on 11 Dec. 1958 the Territorial Assembly decided to remain in the Republic.

Etat Comorien

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1976

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations