• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Angola, with a coastline of over 1,000 miles, is separated from the Congo by the boundaries assigned by the convention of 12 May 1886; from Zaïre by those fixed by the convention of 22 July 1927; from Rhodesia in accordance with the convention of 11 June 1891, and from South West Africa in accordance with that of 30 Dec. 1886. The Congo region was discovered by the Portuguese in 1482, and the first settlers arrived there in 1491. Luanda was founded in 1575. It was taken by the Dutch in 1641 and occupied by them until 1648.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1976

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations