• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. Basutoland first received the protection of Britain in 1868 at the request of Moshesh, the first paramount chief. In 1871 the territory was annexed to the Cape Colony, but in 1884 it was restored to the direct control of the British Government through the High Commissioner for South Africa. On 4 Oct. 1966 Basutoland became an independent and sovereign member of the Commonwealth under the name of the Kingdom of Lesotho.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Statistical Information. Bureau of Statistics, P.O.B. 455, Maseru, Lesotho.Google Scholar
  2. Lesotho: Report for 1968. Maseru, 1969Google Scholar
  3. Ashton, H., The Basuto. 2nd ed. OUP, 1967FGoogle Scholar
  4. Haiiey, Lord, The Republic of South Africa and the High Commission Territories. OUP, 1963Google Scholar
  5. Khaketla, B. M., Lesotho 1970. London, 1971Google Scholar
  6. Spence, J. E., Lesotho. OUP, 1968Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1976

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations