• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. The Principality of Bulgaria and the Autonomous Province of Eastern Rumelia, both under Turkish suzerainty, were constituted by the Treaty of Berlin, 13 July 1878. In 1885 Rumelia was reunited with Bulgaria. On 22 Sept. (5 Oct.) 1908 Bulgaria declared her independence of Turkey. Rulers: Prince Alexander I of Battenberg, 1879–86 ; Prince (after 1908, Tsar) Ferdinand, 1887–1918 (abdicated); Tsar Boris III, 1918–43; Tsar Simeon II, lost his throne as a result of the referendum held on 8 Sept. 1946. 3,801,160 votes were cast in favour of a republic, 197,176 votes in favour of the monarchy; 119,168 voting papers were invalid.

Narodna Republika Bulgaria


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Kratka Bulgarska Entsiklopediya (Short Bulgarian Encyclopaedia). 5 vols. Sofia, 1963–69Google Scholar
  2. Statisticheski Godishnik (Statistical Yearbook). Sofia from 1956Google Scholar
  3. Guide Book to Bulgaria. Sofia, 1965Google Scholar
  4. Social and Economic Development of Bulgaria, 1944–1964. Sofia, 1964Google Scholar
  5. Brown, J. F., Bulgaria under Communist Rule. London, 1970Google Scholar
  6. Chakalov, G. (ed.), Bülgaro-angliiski rechnik (Bulgarian-English Dictionary). Sofia, 1961Google Scholar
  7. The Nagel Encyclopaedia-Guide to Bulgaria. London, 1968Google Scholar
  8. Pundeff, M. V., Bulgaria: a Bibliographic Guide. Library of Congress, 1965.Google Scholar
  9. Rusinov, S., Bulgaria: Land, Economy, Culture. Sofia, 1965Google Scholar
  10. Todorov, N., and others. Bulgaria: Historical and Geographical Outline. Sofia, 1965Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1972

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations