• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Republic consists of the 12 districts of Assaba, Brakna, Gorgol, Guidimaka, Adrar, Western and Eastern Hodh, Inchiri, Levrier Bay, Traza, Tiris-Zemmour and Tagant, with a total area of 1,030,700 sq. km. In 1969 the 12 districts will be divided into 7 administrative areas.

République Islamique de Mauritanie

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1971

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations