• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The area is 112,600 sq. km, and the population, in 1965, 2.37m. The seat of government is Porto Novo (74,500 inhabitants); the chief port and business centre is Cotonou (111,000); other important towns are Abomey (42,100), Ouidah (19,600) and Parakou (16,300).

République du Dahomey


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. French Ambassador: L. F. Delamare.Google Scholar
  2. British Ambassador and Consul-General: F. Smitherman, MBE (resides at Lomé).Google Scholar
  3. Ambassador to UK: Michel Ahouanmenou.Google Scholar
  4. Ambassador to USA: Wilfred de Souza.Google Scholar
  5. USA Ambassador: Matthew Looram, Jr.Google Scholar
  6. Bulletin statistique du Dahomey. Porto-Novo. (Monthly)Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1971

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations